Season of Giving Season of Thieving

Yesterday a friend of mine had their house broken into and property stolen. It was so hard to hear about that so close to where I live. I went through it also a few years ago after moving into the property I currently live in. 

It is very devastating to think about thieves breaking into someone’s home when it has happened to you. When I first moved into my current home, it was broken into many times over the first two years. At that point, you either fight back or curl in a ball and give up. 

What makes a person want to be a thief? Are they actually hungry and desperate for food? Doubtful. What motivates them?  No moral upbringing, no God in their lives, depraved living, bad friend choices, drugs, alcohol, envy, even the excitement and thrill of danger. All of those things could cause them to desire something of someone else’s. 

After having my home broke into, I lived in fear for a while. A few months later my daughter was also assaulted while in the throws of a seizure. Although she didn’t know anything about it until later, I was outraged. It pushed me one step closer to snapping. Luckily, I have family, friends, and God that brought us through. 

After the thieves broke into my home, I felt like we had been emotionally raped. I could crawl into a hole and curl up and want to die, or I could fight back. I chose to fight back. 

Living a life of faith had always been important to me. I researched scriptures that infused prayers of protection and put together prayers for safety for my home. I put in the strongest light on my property that made it almost seem like daytime at night. Next, I bought a gun, practiced my shooting, and became efficient at it. After that, I would walk my property in the middle of the night, gun in hand, and bright light ready to look around dark corners and peruse my property. It consumed me. 

They had won and my life was caught in a cycle of fear. I decided to fight back. I refused to let them have control of my life. Gradually, through prayer and time, I won my battle. I talked to a friend who called the local police and had them drive their cars through our neighborhood. Several neighbors had also had problems as well, so it worked out well for all of us. Now I live in faith that my God will protect me and mine. 

“For he has not given me a spirit of fear, but of love and a sound mind.” Several scriptures speak of not living in fear. Hebrews 13:6, Philippians 4:11, Proverbs 1:33, Psalms 34:7. Surround yourself with good people, search the Word for His guidance. Pray and live in him. 

https://mlsassistance.wordpress.com/Wrapping-Fantasy/Season-of-Giving-Season-of-Thieving

Leave a Reply

